Yes. There are marijuana dispensaries in Tempe. Pursuant to Section 3-426 of the Tempe Municipal Code, the operation of a marijuana establishment is legal within Tempe. Entities that have been issued dual licenses by the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) can operate a non-profit medical marijuana dispensary and a marijuana establishment selling adult-use cannabis in the same locations.
Yes. There are medical marijuana dispensaries in Tempe in accordance with Section 3-426 of the city code. Note that medical marijuana dispensaries are authorized in Arizona jurisdictions under the medical marijuana legalization law in the state – The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA).
While you are unlikely to have adult-use cannabis delivered to your doorstep, you can order medical cannabis online in Tempe if you possess a valid medical marijuana identification card and have it delivered. If you buy adult-use cannabis online in the city, you must arrange a curbside or in-store pickup.
Visiting a weed dispensary in Tempe can be intimidating, whether it is your first time visiting any dispensary. Therefore, you should consider the following before stepping out to shop for cannabis products in the city:
Have an idea of what you want: Even if you do not know what cannabis products you want yet, it is best to have an idea of what you are looking for before you go. Think about the effect or impact you want from cannabis, how long you want the effects to last, and any other preferences you may have. This will help the budtender point you in the right direction
Do some research: Before visiting a dispensary, it is always a good idea to research the various cannabis strains and their unique effects. Every strain has different effects, ranging from inducing sleepiness to stimulating hunger. If you are unsure about the results you would like to experience from cannabis, looking up the effects of various cannabis strains may help you decide. If you already know which dispensary you will visit, check out their menu online before you arrive. Online menus are an excellent means of educating oneself about the numerous types of cannabis products available in Tempe
Learn about local cannabis laws: You must be aware of cannabis regulations in Tempe before visiting a dispensary. According to Arizona law, adults can purchase up to 1 ounce of cannabis and 5 grams of concentrated cannabis. Registered patients may possess up to 2.5 ounces every 14 days. When entering a dispensary, you must show a valid ID proving you are 21 or older or a medical marijuana card if you intend to purchase medical marijuana
Prepare to pay in cash: In addition to acceptable credentials, you must also possess a valid payment means. Some dispensaries in Tempe accept debit cards but most accept only cash. However, if you visit a cash-only dispensary, you will likely find an ATM to use to withdraw cash
Tempe marijuana dispensaries are subject to the following regulations:
Dispensaries may not operate drive-through facilities
No individual under 18 may be allowed to enter a medical marijuana dispensary
A dispensary may not be located within 1,500 feet of a childcare facility, a charter school, a private school, or a public school providing elementary or secondary education
A dispensary may not be located within 5,280 feet of another dispensary or marijuana establishment or 1,320 feet of a place of worship, residential zoning district, public park, library, or public community building.
Licensed adult-use marijuana dispensaries may sell marijuana to adults aged 21 and older with valid government-issued identification cards, and employees are required to check buyers' IDs before making cannabis sales
The Smart and Safe Act makes it legal for adults of legal age in Tempe to use cannabis for recreational purposes. The Act permits persons over 21 to keep up to an ounce of marijuana and up to five grams of cannabis extracts in their residences. Also allowed are the home cultivation of up to six live cannabis plants by residents of legal age and the gifting of up to two grams of cannabis to other adults who are at least 21. Twelve cannabis plants are the most that may be grown for personal use in a Tempe home, but that is permitted if there are more than two adults of legal age living there. Cannabis can only be grown at home in enclosed, secure locations that are inaccessible to the general public or minors. The public consumption of cannabis is illegal, as well as operating or riding as a passenger in a vehicle while under the influence of cannabis.
Arizona's medical marijuana laws were enacted in 2010 after the passing of Proposition 203, also called the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA). These laws are valid in Tempe. Tempe adults suffering from any of the approved medical conditions approved in the state are permitted to possess up to 70 grams of marijuana every two weeks. To legally access medical marijuana, Tempe residents must enroll in the Arizona Marijuana Registry and obtain medical marijuana cards. If you are a minor (under 18), you must designate an adult caregiver to purchase and administer medical cannabis on your behalf.
Under the AMMA, Tempe patients may cultivate cannabis plants at home for medical uses if there are no non-profit medical marijuana dispensaries within 25 miles of their homes. Such persons are allowed to grow up to 12 cannabis plants, which must be stored in secure containers hidden from public view. Arizona state law forbids Tempe residents, even medical marijuana users, from consuming marijuana in public places, vehicles, or places where smoking tobacco is prohibited. Furthermore, possessing or using marijuana on federal properties, including national forests, parks, and monuments, is a federal offense.
You can obtain a medical marijuana card in Tempe if you meet the following eligibility requirement:
Be aged 18 or older
Reside in Tempe or another Arizona jurisdiction
Possess a current government-issued ID
Have obtained a medical cannabis certification for any of the following medical conditions:
Agitation of Alzheimer's disease
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
A medical condition or the treatment for a disease or condition that causes:
Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
Severe muscle spasms, including those characteristics of multiple sclerosis
Although the application for a medical marijuana card is completed on the Arizona Online Patient Registry, you may only visit the portal to complete your registration after receiving your medical cannabis certification. You must provide the following to complete the application:
A completed and signed physician certification form
A valid photo ID
A completed and signed qualifying patient attestation
Your digital photograph
A $150 application fee or $75 if you can provide valid SNAP documentation
The Arizona Department of Health Services takes around 1-2 weeks to process and review your application. Your medical marijuana card will be issued within five days after approval. For more information on getting a medical marijuana card, see the ADHS website's medicinal marijuana page or the ADHS medical marijuana online application guide.
Cannabis use is legal in a private residence or property. However, registered medical cannabis patients are permitted to consume medical cannabis edibles in public.
In Tempe, you can buy cannabis by visiting a dispensary's location or ordering from an online menu on a dispensary's website. At a dispensary, you will be required to present a current government-issued ID or a medical marijuana card. To find the address of a Tempe cannabis dispensary, put the search term “cannabis dispensaries near me" in an online search engine.
The average price of an eighth of high-quality cannabis in Tempe is $50.
Larry OG, Girl Scout Cookies, Ghost Train Haze, and Gelato are popular cannabis strains in Tempe.
No. Smoking marijuana in public is prohibited in Tempe. Whether you are a recreational or medical user of cannabis, smoking the substance is illegal anywhere tobacco smoking is illegal in Tempe.
Medical users of marijuana in Tempe are allowed to possess up to 70.8 grams of cannabis every 14 days. They can also grow up to 12 cannabis plants with no more than three of such plants at the flowering state provided no non-profit medical marijuana store lies within 25 miles of their residences. Pursuant to Proposition 207, Tempe residents aged 21 or older may possess up to 5 grams of cannabis concentrates and 1 ounce of cannabis. Adults may also cultivate up to 6 live cannabis plants.
No. Shipping cannabis in or out of Tempe across state lines is illegal according to federal law, as the United States Controlled Substance Act categorizes marijuana as a banned substance. Note that inter-state transportation falls under the jurisdiction of federal authorities.
If you buy cannabis online in Tempe, you can only pick up your order at the store. However, medical cannabis products ordered online may be delivered to your doorstep.
No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in Tempe. Per Section 3-426 of the Tempe Municipal Code, weed dispensaries may only operate between 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.
Yes. If you are a tourist in Tempe, you can buy marijuana at a recreational marijuana dispensing facility, provided you present a valid government-issued ID showing you are of legal age (21) to use cannabis. Out-of-state patients in Tempe may not purchase from licensed dispensaries but can possess up to 70 grams of usable cannabis.
You do not need a medical marijuana card to enter a weed dispensary in Tempe, except if you plan to purchase medicinal cannabis. You only need a valid ID showing you are at least 21 to buy adult-use cannabis in the city.
Harvest of Tempe and Sol Flower are two leading cannabis dispensaries in Tempe.
Yes. Tempe weed dispensaries scan their customers' IDs to ensure purchases are maintained within the limits stated under the law.
There are currently five cannabis dispensaries in Tempe.
Cash is the commonly accepted mode of payment for marijuana transactions in Tempe. If you do not have cash, you may use an ATM on the premises of the dispensary.
You can visit multiple dispensaries in one day in Tempe. However, you can only buy up to the stated limits under the law.
No. Tempe marijuana dispensaries do not accept health insurance.
Yes. In compliance with Arizona law, Tempe cannabis dispensaries use the state track and trace system to track how much weed you buy in their facilities.
No. You must be aged 21 or older before you may be allowed to enter a Tempe recreational dispensary. However, you may enter a medical marijuana dispensary if you are 18 or older.
The Arizona Department of Health Services regulates marijuana activities in Tempe and statewide in Arizona. The main office of the ADHS is at:
150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 400
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 364-2536