Marijuana Dispensaries in Phoenix

  1. Arizona Cannabis
  2. Maricopa County Cannabis
  3. Marijuana Dispensaries in Phoenix

Are there Marijuana Dispensaries in Phoenix?

Yes. Pursuant to Proposition 207, which legalized recreational marijuana in Arizona, medical marijuana dispensaries are permitted within the borders of Phoenix.

Are there Medical Marijuana Dispensaries in Phoenix?

Yes. Medical marijuana is legal in Phoenix in accordance with the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA). AMMA permits the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries in all jurisdictions in the state. Phoenix has not enacted any laws prohibiting the establishment of medical marijuana dispensaries in the city.

Can You Buy Cannabis from Online Weed Dispensaries in Phoenix?

No. Currently, you cannot legally purchase recreational weed online as recreational cannabis delivery is illegal in the city per state law. However, pursuant to Sections 36-2850 and 36-2854 of the Arizona Revised Statutes, the delivery of adult-use marijuana will be permitted once the Arizona Department of Health Services adopts rules permitting and regulating delivery.

If you are qualified for medical marijuana in the city, you can order medical marijuana online and have it delivered to your doorstep.

Visiting a Dispensary in Phoenix

Buying cannabis at a cannabis dispensary in Phoenix should not be a daunting challenge to residents or visitors. There are actions to take before visiting a dispensary, considerations to make while at a dispensary, and guidelines to follow after leaving a dispensary.

Before visiting a dispensary:

  • Find a dispensary near you: You may put the search term "marijuana dispensaries near me" in a search engine online to find the physical addresses of cannabis dispensaries near you

  • Take along a valid, State of Arizona-issued ID or driver's license

  • You must be 21 or older

  • Take cash with you: Most dispensaries in Phoenix and other locations in Arizona only accept cash for transactions

While you are in the dispensary:

  • You will not be able to serve yourself or touch the products on offer in order to keep the products hygienic

  • Do not be afraid to ask questions. Most dispensaries have budtenders who are well-versed with cannabis dosages, uses, and side effects. The budtender is responsible for ensuring you have a quality experience at the dispensary. Hence, do not hesitate to explain your requirements and expectations so that you may get the best-fitting cannabis products

  • Be patient. You may sometimes meet a long line at dispensaries and may have to sit in a waiting area before entering the products area

After you leave the dispensary:

  • Wait till you get home before consuming: Consuming cannabis on the premises of marijuana dispensaries is illegal. So, wait till you get home before lighting up

  • Store your cannabis products properly: In order to keep your purchases fresh, it is recommended that you store your cannabis products properly

Phoenix Dispensary Laws

Per the Phoenix zoning ordinance, medical marijuana dispensaries may not be located within 1,320 feet of a kindergarten, preschool, elementary, public park, community, center, secondary or high school, or a place of worship. Such facilities are also prohibited within 500 feet of a residentially zoned district. Marijuana dispensaries in the city may not dispense more than the stipulated cannabis amounts under state law to buyers. Cannabis dispensaries must verify the IDs and documentation of buyers before selling them cannabis products.

Recreational Laws in Phoenix

Cannabis is legal in Phoenix pursuant to the Smart and Safe Act. Phoenix adults aged 21 or older can possess 1 ounce of marijuana and no more than 5 grams of cannabis concentrates. Adults may also cultivate up to six cannabis plants at their primary residences. Such persons may also give away up to 2 grams of cannabis to other adults aged 21 or older.

Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal and consumption of cannabis in public places is also not allowed. Per home cultivation of cannabis, if more than two adults reside in a home, they are permitted to grow up to 12 cannabis plants in total. Such cultivation, however, must be out of public view. The permitted forms of cannabis in Phoenix include topicals, flower, edibles, capsules, salves, and consumption accessories.

Medical Cannabis Laws in Phoenix

Medical marijuana is legal in Phoenix under the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA). A registered patient under the medical marijuana program established by the AMMA can possess up to 70 grams of cannabis in a 14-day period. Patients who cannot administer medical marijuana personally may designate caregivers to use medical marijuana delivery services in the city. Although AMMA requires medical patients to consume medical cannabis in private locations, edibles are permitted to be consumed in public by registered patients.

Per state law, nursing care institutions in the city are permitted to adopt rules to regulate medical marijuana use by their residents. However, such institutions may not limit registered patients' medical cannabis use unless doing so would cause the institution to lose monetary or licensing-related benefits under federal regulations. State law permits patients and caregivers to offer medical marijuana to other registered patients or designated caregivers providing no item of value is exchanged, and possession limits are not exceeded.

Per home cultivation, registered patients and designated caregivers may cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants for medical uses if there are no non-profit marijuana dispensaries within 25 miles of their residences. Such cultivated plants must be maintained in enclosed, locked containers out of public view.

Arizona's medical marijuana laws prohibit Phoenix employers from discriminating when recruiting, terminating, or disciplining medical marijuana cardholders based solely on their status as cardholders unless the company would lose federal benefits by not doing so. A patient cannot be held accountable for a positive drug test unless they used, possessed, or were impaired by cannabis while at work or on the premises during work hours.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Phoenix

In order to obtain a medical marijuana card in Phoenix, you must:

  • Be aged 18 or older

  • Be a resident of Phoenix or another Arizona location

  • Have an acceptable ID, such as an Arizona Driver's License or Arizona Identification Card

  • Have one or more of the following conditions:

    • Glaucoma

    • HIV

    • AIDS

    • Cancer

    • Agitation of Alzheimer's disease

    • Crohn's disease

    • Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)

    • Hepatitis C

    • A debilitating disease or medical condition or the treatment for a chronic or debilitating disease or condition that causes:

      • Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)

      • Severe nausea

      • Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy

      • Cachexia

      • Chronic pain

      • Severe muscle spasms, including those characteristics of multiple sclerosis

You must obtain a written certification from your Arizona-licensed physician attesting that you have a qualifying debilitating condition. Note that the certification must be on an Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS)-provided form. Subsequently, visit the Arizona Online Patient Registry to complete your application. On the online application, you will be required to provide the following:

  • An electronic copy of your photo identification

  • An electronic copy of your completed and signed physician certification form

  • An electronic copy of your completed and signed qualifying patient attestation

  • Current digital photograph

  • A $150 application fee for the medical marijuana card. If you are eligible for Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) assistance and provide proper documentation on the application portal, your application fee will be reduced to $75

Within 10 days of receiving a completed application, the ADHS will approve or deny the application. After approval, the medical marijuana card will be issued within 5 days. For more information on obtaining a medical marijuana card in Phoenix, visit the Medical Marijuana page of the Arizona Department of Health Services website or review the Individual Application and Portal Guide.

Where is it Legal to Consume Cannabis in Phoenix?

It is legal to consume cannabis at a private home or property in the city. Consuming cannabis in your vehicle, whether moving or not, is illegal. If you live in a multi-unit dwelling, you can also not consume marijuana on such a property.

How to Buy Cannabis at a Phoenix Dispensary

You may buy cannabis at a Phoenix dispensary by visiting the address of a weed dispensary near you. To find the location of a nearby weed dispensary, put the search term “weed dispensaries near me” in a search box on an online search engine. You can also purchase medical marijuana online from the website of a medical cannabis dispensary.

The Average Price in Phoenix

Weed prices vary by strain and quality in Phoenix. Typically, one gram of high-quality recreational weed in the city costs about $25. Half-ounce of the same quality of weed costs about $180. Medical marijuana strains are usually cheaper, with patients enjoying up to 16% lower prices than recreational marijuana buyers as they are exempt from the excise tax on purchases. Hence, one gram of high-quality medical weed costs about $18, while a half-ounce of the same quality of medical weed costs $120.

Most Popular Strains in Phoenix

Some popular cannabis strains in Phoenix are:

  • King Kush

  • Wedding Pie

  • Runtz

  • Jack Herer

  • Gelato

  • Afghani

  • Cherry Punch

Can You Smoke in Public in Phoenix?

No. Cannabis smoking in public and open spaces is illegal in Phoenix. Even if you are of legal age and keep possession limits, you may breach the law if you smoke marijuana in a public or open area. According to Arizona law, public space is an enclosed location where the public is encouraged or authorized to be. Airports, shopping malls, and shopping malls are examples of public places where marijuana use is prohibited. The state of Arizona defines open spaces as parks, pedestrian thoroughfares, sidewalks, and pathways.

It is also important to understand that homes serving as care facilities are also considered public areas. Also, isolating yourself in a park or other open location makes no difference. It is illegal to use marijuana there, and you will be penalized if caught.

How Much Marijuana Can You Possess at Once in Phoenix?

Proposition 207 allows Phoenix adults aged 21 or older to possess 5 grams of cannabis concentrate, 28 grams of marijuana, and grow up to six cannabis plants per person and no more than 12 plants per household. Medical marijuana patients in the city can possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a 14-day period. Registered patients may also grow 12 cannabis plants for medical use if no non-profit cannabis dispensary is located within 25 miles of their residences.

Can I Ship Cannabis in Phoenix?

No. Shipping cannabis into Phoenix from another state is illegal under federal law, as the federal Controlled Substance Act classifies marijuana as an illegal narcotic.

Can I Order Cannabis Online in Phoenix?

Currently, you cannot order adult-use cannabis online as the state prohibits recreational cannabis delivery in the city. However, Sections 36-2850 and 36-2854 of the Arizona Revised Statutes permit adult-use cannabis delivery once ADHS promulgates the rules for regulating cannabis delivery. Unlike adult-use cannabis delivery, you can order medical marijuana online in Phoenix.

Are there 24-hour Dispensaries in Phoenix?

You may be able to find 24-hour dispensaries in the city as there are no specific statutes in the state law prohibiting the operations of 24-hour services.

Can Tourists Use Dispensaries in Phoenix?

Yes. If you are a tourist in Phoenix, you can purchase cannabis at any of the city’s adult-use marijuana dispensing facilities as long as you have a valid government-issued ID showing you are of legal age (21) to consume cannabis.

Do You Need ID for Dispensary in Phoenix?

You do not require a medical marijuana card to obtain recreational cannabis in Phoenix. You only need to show an ID proving you are 21 or older to purchase marijuana from the retail outlets in the city. However, if you are a medical marijuana patient, your medical marijuana card will be required before purchasing medical marijuana.

Best Dispensaries in Phoenix

Some of the best dispensaries in Phoenix include:

  • Sol Flower

  • Trumed

  • Hana Dispensaries

  • Sunday Goods

  • Giving Tree Dispensary

  • The Flower Shop

  • Mint Cannabis

Do Dispensaries Scan your ID in Phoenix?

Yes. Marijuana dispensaries scan their customers' IDs to keep track of purchases made by buyers.

How Many Dispensaries are in Phoenix?

There are over 15 marijuana dispensaries in Phoenix. You can find approved marijuana retail outlets in the city on the Adult Use Marijuana Program Licensed Marijuana Establishments list published on the Arizona Department of Health Services website.

Can Dispensaries in Phoenix Take Credit Cards?

Cannabis transactions in Phoenix are usually completed using cash. Prepare to use cash to complete your purchases at dispensing facilities in the city.

How Many Dispensaries Can You Visit in One Day?

You can visit multiple marijuana dispensaries in one day in the city. Note that you cannot purchase above the stated limits under law as the dispensing facilities track your purchases.

Do Dispensaries in Phoenix Take Health Insurance?

No. Phoenix cannabis dispensaries do not take health insurance. Since health insurance businesses operate under federal law, which also prohibits the use of marijuana, many of these companies do not have marijuana purchases covered under their policies.

Do Dispensaries in Phoenix Track How Much Weed You Buy?

Yes. Dispensaries in Phoenix are required under state law to track how much weed is purchased by customers.

Can You Enter a Dispensary in Phoenix at Age 18?

No. You must be 21 or older to enter a Phoenix recreational dispensary. However, you may enter a medical marijuana dispensary if you are 18 or older. If you are under 18, you will require the help of your caregiver to obtain medical marijuana from the medical cannabis dispensary.

Where Can I Find Phoenix Cannabis Regulator’s Contact Information?

The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) is the regulatory authority over marijuana retail sales, marijuana cultivation, and testing facilities in Phoenix and the State of Arizona. You can find the contact information for the department on the ADHS website. The Phoenix office of the ADHS is located at:

150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 400

Phoenix, AZ 85007

Phone: (602) 364-2536

How Do I Report Illegal Cannabis Activities in Phoenix?

You may report illegal cannabis activities in Phoenix to the Phoenix Police Department or by filing a complaint to the ADHS (Arizona Department of Health Services).

Arizona Cannabis County Info
In this section: