Yes. Pursuant to Chapter 25 of the Mesa Code, entities that have obtained dual licenses from the ADHS (Arizona Department of Health Services) may sell recreational marijuana in the city. A dual licensee refers to an entity holding a nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary license and a marijuana establishment license issued by the ADHS.
Chapter 25 of the Mesa Code permits the operation of medical marijuana dispensaries in the city. Medical marijuana and sales of medical marijuana products were legalized statewide by the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA).
You cannot order adult-use marijuana online in Mesa as Chapter 6-25-6 of the City Code prohibits the delivery of recreational marijuana in the city. However, you may have medical marijuana delivered to your doorstep by licensed medical marijuana dispensaries.
Here are some critical considerations when visiting a marijuana dispensary in Mesa:
Age: The most important rule to note when visiting a marijuana dispensary is your age. You must be at least 21 to go into a recreational marijuana dispensary in the city. A dispensary staff at the facility entrance will check your ID as state and local laws require. If you visit the dispensary to buy medical marijuana, you will need to show your medical marijuana card
Hold Cash: Most dispensing facilities in Mesa do not take credit cards, so you will need to take cash with you when visiting the dispensary. Otherwise, you can use an ATM at the dispensary location to withdraw cash for your purchases
Hold Off Touching the Products: The budtender or attendant at the dispensary will only show you what products are available but will not allow you to touch the products to prevent them from contamination
Consumption Policy: You are not allowed to use cannabis on the premises of the dispensary. Hence, do not plan to smoke or use marijuana products in the store or on the sidewalk after purchase
Be open: Most dispensaries have budtenders or other workers who know much about cannabis and its uses. So, do not hesitate to share your expectations and specific needs to help the attendant guide you in your products selection
Note that the tax rate on recreational marijuana transactions in Mesa is at least 16%, and buyers are restricted from purchasing more than the limits stated under Arizona cannabis laws.
The following are dispensary laws in the City of Mesa:
Dispensaries must verify that buyers are 21 or older before selling them adult-use cannabis
Dispensaries must verify that medical marijuana hold valid Arizona medical marijuana licenses before selling them medical cannabis
Dispensaries may offer direct or home delivery service to only qualifying medical marijuana patients
Dispensaries may only be open to the public between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. on the same calendar day
Dispensaries may not operate a drive-through window, outdoor seating, outdoor vending machines, or temporary, portable, or self-powered mobile facilities
Dispensaries are only permitted in the LI and GI districts
No dispensary may be located within 5,280 feet of another marijuana dispensary or marijuana establishment located in neighboring jurisdictions
Dispensaries must be located at least 2,400 feet from a community residence, social service facility, and a correctional transitional housing facility
Dispensaries must be separated by a minimum of 1,200 feet from a library, school, public park located in the LI or GI districts, or church located in the RM, RS, DR, T3N, T4N, or T5N districts
Dispensaries must be separated by at least 500 feet from daycare centers, preschools, public parks located in all zoning districts except LI or GI, and privately owned open spaces and recreation areas
The Smart and Safe Act legalized cannabis use for adults of legal age statewide in Arizona. The Act allows Mesa residents over the age of 21 to possess up to one ounce of marijuana and five grams of cannabis extracts. Additionally, they may cultivate up to six cannabis plants at home. Adult Mesa residents may also give away up to 2 grams of cannabis to other adults of at least 21 years of age as long as no exchange of any item of value is involved.
Driving under the influence of cannabis is prohibited in Mesa, as is the use of cannabis in public areas. If more than two adults reside in a dwelling, no more than twelve cannabis plants may be cultivated for personal use in such a household. Home growing of cannabis is only permitted in locations secluded from public view and inaccessible to minors.
Mesa complies with the Arizona Medicinal Marijuana Act (AMMA) for medical marijuana use. A patient enrolled with the AMMA's medical marijuana program is permitted to possess up to 70 grams of cannabis for a period of 14 days. Patients unable to use medicinal marijuana may designate caregivers to help administer medical marijuana. Although AMMA only enables patients to use cannabis for medicinal purposes on private property, the Act permits registered patients to consume edible cannabis products in public.
State law permits nursing care institutions in the city to create policies relating to the medical marijuana use of its residents. However, such institutions may not prohibit the medical cannabis use of registered patients unless doing so would result in the loss of financial or licensing-related benefits under federal law. Patients and caregivers are allowed by state law to give medical marijuana to other registered patients or approved caregivers, provided there is no remuneration or compensation and possession limits are not exceeded.
If there are no nonprofit medical marijuana dispensaries within 25 miles of their residences, registered patients and licensed caregivers may grow up to 12 cannabis plants for personal medical use. The cultivated plants must be stored in safe, enclosed containers concealed from public view.
Under the AMMA, an employer in Mesa may not hold a registered medical marijuana patient accountable for a positive drug test unless the patient consumed, possessed, or was impaired by cannabis during work hours or while on duty.
To obtain a medical marijuana card in Mesa, Arizona, you must:
Be aged 18 or older
Live in Mesa or another Arizona jurisdiction
Possess a valid government-issued ID, such as an Arizona driver's license or Arizona identification card
Be certified to have any of the following approved medical conditions:
Sclerosis Lateral Amyotrophic (ALS)
Agitation associated with Alzheimer's illness
A chronic or debilitating illness or medical condition, or the therapy for a chronic or debilitating medical condition or disease, that causes:
Persistent muscular spasms, including those associated with multiple sclerosis
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Seizures, especially those typical of epilepsy
In order for your medical marijuana certification to be valid, your Arizona-licensed doctor must issue the written certification on an Arizona Department of Health Services-issued form (ADHS). After obtaining the certification, visit the Arizona Online Patient Registry to complete your application. The application will require the following items:
A digital copy of the completed and signed physician certification form
A digital copy of your photo ID
A digital copy of your completed and signed qualified patient attestation
Your digital photo
A $150 application fee. If you are a SNAP (Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program) participant and present valid SNAP paperwork on the application site, you are eligible for a $75 application fee reduction
The ADHS will review your application within ten days of submission. If your application is accepted, you will get your medical marijuana card within five days. For more information about obtaining a medical marijuana card in the City of Mesa, visit the Medical Marijuana page of the Arizona Department of Health Services website or review the Individual Application and Portal Guide.
In Mesa, cannabis use on private properties and sites is permitted. If you dwell in a multi-unit apartment, you are prohibited from using marijuana on the premises. Cannabis use in a car, moving or parked, and on federally-owned buildings or sites is prohibited.
You may buy cannabis at a dispensary in Mesa by visiting the location of the marijuana dispensary. If you want to purchase medical marijuana, you can order it online and have it delivered to your home. Note that the delivery of adult-use cannabis is illegal in Mesa. To find a marijuana dispensary near you, put the term "weed dispensaries near me" into a search engine.
The price of marijuana in Arizona varies depending on the strain and quality. The average price per ounce of high-quality marijuana is $250, while a gram of the same quality of cannabis costs about $25. Due to the lack of an excise tax, medicinal marijuana products are typically 16% cheaper than recreational marijuana.
The following cannabis strains are popular in Mesa:
Girl Scout Cookies
Ghost Train Haze
Urkle Train Haze
Super Lemon Haze
No. Mesa prohibits smoking marijuana in public and open spaces. Public spaces under Arizona law refer to enclosed places where public access is encouraged or authorized, while open spaces include walkways and parks.
Proposition 207 allows individuals of legal age (21) in Mesa to possess up to 5 grams of cannabis concentrate, 28 grams of marijuana, and up to six cannabis plants per adult, but no more than 12 cannabis plants per household. The city allows medical marijuana patients to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana over 14-day periods.
No. Shipping marijuana across state lines is a federal offense since federal laws govern interstate commuting. Note that cannabis remains a prohibited substance under the federal Controlled Substances Act.
You cannot have adult-use cannabis delivered to your doorstep or location in Mesa, as the city ordinance prohibits such a service. However, if you order medical cannabis online, you can have it delivered to your home or other location.
Per Section 11-31-34 of the Mesa Code, cannabis dispensaries in the city may only operate between 8:00 a.m. and 9:00 p.m. daily.
Yes. If you are a visitor in Mesa, you may purchase recreational marijuana at marijuana dispensaries if you present a valid government-issued ID proving you are at least 21 years old.
To purchase recreational cannabis in Mesa, you only need to provide identification proving you are at least 21 years old. Any government-issued ID will suffice. However, if you are a medical marijuana patient, you must provide your medical marijuana card prior to purchasing medical marijuana.
These are some of the best cannabis dispensaries in Mesa:
Yes. Marijuana dispensaries in Mesa scan customers’ IDs to verify their ages and guarantee that their purchases do not exceed legal restrictions.
There are more than 10 approved marijuana dispensaries in the City of Mesa.
Typically, dispensaries in Mesa only take cash and not credit cards. If you do not have cash, you may use an ATM on the dispensary's premises.
In Mesa, you may visit more than one cannabis dispensary on the same day. However, you will not be able to purchase more than the law permits.
No. Marijuana stores in Mesa do not take health insurance. Since health insurance policies are governed by federal law (federal law considers marijuana an illegal substance), they do not cover the purchase of marijuana.
Yes. Mesa dispensaries are required by Arizona law to track weed purchases at their facilities.
No. You must be at least 21 years old to purchase adult-use cannabis at a Mesa marijuana dispensary. However, you may purchase medical marijuana products at a dispensary in the city if you are 18 or older.
The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) administers marijuana activities and operations in the City of Mesa and statewide in Arizona. The department's contact information is available on its website. The ADHS' main office is located at:
150 N. 400 18th Avenue, Suite
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 364-2536
You may report illegal cannabis activities in the City of Mesa by contacting the Mesa Police Department or filing a complaint with the ADHS (Arizona Department of Health Services).