Yes. Glendale permits the medical marijuana dispensaries that have obtained dual licenses pursuant to Section 36-2801 of the Arizona Revised Statutes to sell recreational marijuana in the city. A dual licensee is allowed to operate a single marijuana retail location to dispense medical marijuana to qualifying patients and sell marijuana to individuals aged 21 or older.
Yes. Chapter 21.4 of the City of Glendale Municipal Code permits medical marijuana dispensaries to operate in the city. The city allows medical marijuana dispensaries to be located in the G-O (General Office ), C-2 (General Commercial), and C-3 (Heavy Commercial ) zoning districts under Section 7.802 of the city code.
You may purchase cannabis online from some Glendale weed dispensaries, but such retail establishments will not deliver your orders to your doorstep. You may pick it up in-store if you order adult-use cannabis in the city. Adult-use cannabis delivery will become lawful under Section 36-2850 of the Arizona Revised Statutes after the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) develops and publishes the regulations governing cannabis delivery in Arizona.
Before visiting a Glendale weed dispensary, you must know the city rules concerning cannabis dispensary operations. These include:
Age Limits: There is no minimum or maximum age to purchase medical marijuana in the city. However, to buy recreational marijuana, a person must be at least 21 years old
Purchasing: Currently, medical marijuana users may buy up to 2.5 ounces every two weeks, while a recreational marijuana user will be permitted to purchase up to one ounce of cannabis and no more than five grams of concentrates or extracts per transaction
Prices: The prices of cannabis products vary per dispensary and whether a product is for recreational or medical purpose
Taxes: Dispensaries in Glendale charge a state-imposed 16% excise tax in addition to other state and local sales taxes on recreational marijuana purchases. Excise taxes are not charged on medical marijuana transactions
Payment: Most Glendale dispensaries only accept cash for completing weed transactions. So, take cash with you when visiting a dispensary
Consumption: City and state laws forbid weed buyers from consuming cannabis on the premises of dispensaries in the city. Therefore, do not attempt to open the containers for the products on-site. You can consume your products when you get home or at other private properties
The following laws pertain to the operations of cannabis dispensaries in the City of Glendale:
Dispensaries may not be located in a cargo container, trailer, or motor vehicle
Dispensaries must prohibit on-premises consumption of cannabis
Dispensaries may not be located within 5,280 feet of another medical marijuana dispensary, medical marijuana infusion (or manufacturing) facility, medical marijuana dispensary offsite cultivation site, or medical marijuana designated caregiver cultivation location
Dispensaries may not be located within 500 feet of a residentially zoned property or 1,320 feet of an elementary, secondary, or high school
Dispensaries may only operate between 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.
Dispensaries may operate off-site delivery services
Dispensaries may not operate drive-through services
Cannabis dispensaries must verify and ensure cannabis is sold only to persons of legal ages (21 for recreational cannabis and 18 for medical cannabis)
In November 2020, Arizona voters decisively approved Proposition 207, legalizing possession, cultivation, and use of marijuana for adult-use purposes subject to specific limitations, reversing a decision from only four years before.
Prior to the passage of Proposition 207, Arizona had one of the nation's harshest penalties for marijuana use. Possession of even the smallest quantity may result in a felony conviction.
Proposition 207 makes it lawful for Glendale residents over the age of 21 to possess up to one ounce (28 grams) of marijuana and to grow up to six cannabis plants at home, so long as they are hidden from public view (12 plants if two adults reside there). The Smart and Safe Arizona Act requires the Department of Health Services to issue marijuana establishment licenses for the sale of recreational cannabis in Glendale and other Arizona municipalities.
While cannabis is now legal for recreational purposes, according to Section 28-1381 of the Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS), cannabis use is forbidden in public, and driving while intoxicated by marijuana remains unlawful.
In 2010, Arizona voters approved Proposition 203, which legalized the medicinal use of marijuana. The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) is responsible for administering the Arizona Medical Marijuana Act (AMMA).
The Arizona Medical Marijuana Act, also called Proposition 203, protects terminally or severely ill Glendale residents from punishment for using small quantities of marijuana on their physicians’ recommendations. Patients who qualify and register with the state Department of Health Services can obtain marijuana from non-profit medical cannabis dispensaries and caregivers administered by the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS).
The Arizona Medicinal Marijuana Act (AMMA) permits state-licensed physicians to recommend medical marijuana to Glendale residents with at least one qualifying ailment. Glendale patients may get Arizona medical marijuana cards with doctors’ recommendations, allowing them to buy, possess, and consume marijuana. A patient can buy up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis from a state-licensed dispensary every two weeks.
If you live 25 miles away from a dispensary as a medical marijuana user in Glendale, you can cultivate your own cannabis. Patients may cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants or have approved caregivers cultivate on their behalf. Caregivers may administer medicinal marijuana to up to five patients and grow up to 12 plants per patient, provided the patient resides more than 25 miles from a dispensary and the caregiver complies with state and local caregiver cultivation regulations. Both caregivers and patients must register with the state and pay the relevant application fees. Medical marijuana users are permitted to give or share medical cannabis with other patients but cannot sell it.
In order to obtain a medical marijuana card in the City of Glendale, follow these steps:
Find Out If You Qualify: To obtain a medical marijuana card, you must:
Be 18 or older. If you are not up to 18, you must have a legal guardian designated as your caregiver
Have a Glendale or Arizona residential address
Have a valid government-issued ID, such as a valid Arizona driver's license or Arizona ID Card
Have one or more of the qualifying health conditions listed below:
Agitation of Alzheimer's disease
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
A medical condition or the treatment for a disease or condition causing:
Seizures, including those from epilepsy
Cachexia or wasting syndrome
Severe or recurrent muscle spasms, including those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
Obtained a Signed Physician Certification for Medical Marijuana: Find an Arizona-licensed medical marijuana doctor and schedule an appointment. The doctor will determine if medical marijuana use is appropriate for your condition. If the determination shows you qualify for medical marijuana use, you can obtain a medical cannabis certification from the physician in a written format stating the condition for which medical cannabis use is required
Submit Your Application: After getting your medical marijuana certification, complete your application on the Arizona Online Patient Registry. The following will be needed to finish the application:
A copy of the completed and signed physician certification form
A copy of your photo ID
A copy of your completed and signed qualifying patient attestation
A copy of your photograph (digital)
A $150 application fee. If you provide valid SNAP documentation when completing your application, you are eligible to pay a reduced application fee of $75
The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) takes around 10 days to review a medicinal marijuana card application. A medical marijuana card will be issued within five days after the approval of your application. For additional information on getting a medical marijuana card, visit the ADHS website's medical marijuana page or review ADHS online medical marijuana card application guide.
Cannabis consumption at home or private property in Glendale is legal. Persons in public places or living in multi-unit dwellings may not use cannabis in such locations.
You can buy cannabis at a licensed dispensary in the city. To find a licensed dispensary in the city, do an online search using the term “marijuana dispensaries near me.” While you may find a few illegal dispensaries listed online, you can ask for the license numbers when visiting. You can also find the establishment's license displayed in a noticeable place on the premises in accordance with Section 21.4-15 of the Glendale Municipal Code. As an alternative to buying cannabis physically in a store, you may also order your cannabis products from online weed dispensaries and pick up your orders in-store.
A gram of high-quality cannabis in Glendale costs about $15.
Runtz, Gelato, and Wedding Cake are three popular cannabis strains in the City of Glendale.
No. Public locations are prohibited for marijuana use, and Glendale businesses are permitted to implement drug-free working practices. Apartment owners may ban smoking in their buildings. The only legal location to smoke is in one's own apartment. As vehicles are considered public areas, smoking in a car is illegal and may result in a driving under the influence (DUI) charge.
Proposition 207 allows individuals of legal age (21) in Glendale to possess up to 5 grams of concentrated marijuana, 28 grams of marijuana, and six cannabis plants per person. However, each household may grow no more than 12 plants, regardless of the number of adults living there. Every 14 days, medical cannabis patients in the city may possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis. If no non-profit cannabis retail businesses are within 25 miles of their residences, qualified patients may cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants for medical use.
No. Shipping cannabis into Glendale from another state is illegal under federal law, as the United States Controlled Substance Act classifies marijuana as a banned drug.
You may order recreational cannabis online and pick up your order in-store at a dispensary. However, you cannot have your order delivered to your doorstep.
No. There are no 24-hour dispensaries in the City of Glendale. Dispensaries may only operate between 8:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.
Yes. If you are a tourist in Glendale, you can buy marijuana at a recreational marijuana dispensing facility, provided you present a valid government-issued ID showing you are of legal age (21) to use cannabis.
In Glendale, individuals may buy marijuana without medical marijuana identification cards. To purchase recreational marijuana from cannabis dispensaries in Glendale, you need only provide an ID indicating you are 21 or older. However, if you are a medical marijuana patient, your medical marijuana card will be required before purchasing medical marijuana.
Harvest HOC and Reef Dispensary are two leading cannabis dispensaries in the City of Glendale.
Yes. Glendale weed dispensaries scan their customers' IDs to ensure purchases are within stipulated limits under the law.
Although there are no official reports on the number of cannabis dispensaries in Glendale on the city website, an Arizona Department of Health Services resource indicates that there are at least five cannabis dispensaries in the city.
Cash is usually the preferred payment mode for cannabis purchases in Glendale. If you do not have cash, you may use an ATM on the premises of the dispensary.
You can visit multiple dispensaries in one day in Glendale. However, you will not be able to buy more than the stated limits under the law.
No. Glendale marijuana dispensaries do not accept health insurance.
Yes. Glendale weed dispensaries track how much weed customers purchase in their facilities. Tracking is done to ensure cannabis buyers do not exceed the prescribed limits.
No. You must be aged 21 or older before you may be allowed to enter a Glendale recreational dispensary. However, you may enter a medical marijuana dispensary if you are 18 or older.
The Arizona Department of Health Services regulates marijuana activities in Glendale and statewide in Arizona. You may find the contact information for the department on the ADHS website. The ADHS’ primary location is at:
150 N. 18th Avenue, Suite 400
Phoenix, AZ 85007
Phone: (602) 364-2536
You may report illegal cannabis activities in Glendale by filing an online report or submitting a tip to the Glendale Police Department. You can report illicit cannabis activities in the city by filing a complaint with the ADHS (Arizona Department of Health Services).