Yes. Although Chandler prohibits establishing recreational marijuana retail businesses in its jurisdiction, it permits cannabis businesses that have obtained dual licenses from the State of Arizona to sell medical and recreational cannabis dispensaries at a single shared location.
Yes. Chandler allows the operation of marijuana dispensaries in the city. Pursuant to Section 35-2213 of the Chandler Municipal Code, medical marijuana facilities in the city may only be located in a C-2 or C-3 District or in that portion of a PAD District where C-2 or C-3 uses are allowed.
You may order cannabis online in Chandler; however, your order cannot be delivered to your doorstep. You may pick up your order in-store.
You no longer need a medical marijuana card to purchase cannabis at an approved cannabis dispensary in Chandler. The Smart and Safe Act allows the sale of cannabis to all people aged 21 and older. When visiting a recreational cannabis dispensary, visitors must present government-issued IDs, and medicinal marijuana users must present their medical marijuana cards to access patient-specific perks and privileges.
You can purchase Arizona-grown Indica, Sativa, and hybrid cannabis strains at Chandler cannabis dispensaries. In certain instances, dispensaries may sell their brand of cannabis flower in addition to vape oils, tinctures, lotions, and edibles.
According to Arizona law, marijuana dispensaries in Chandler may only sell you up to one ounce of marijuana flower daily. So, you may return the next day if you need more. The possession of more than one ounce of marijuana remains illegal. Possession of up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana is a violation punishable by a fine. When you purchase a marijuana product from a Chandler Dispensary, it will be sealed and placed in a transportable bag. Note that a recreational cannabis product purchase includes a 16% tax.
Whenever you make a purchase, your ID will be scanned or otherwise recorded. The dispensary will do this regardless of whether you purchase recreational or medical cannabis. Its purpose is to guarantee that you do not exceed the legal purchase limitations and that the dispensary correctly logs all cannabis purchases.
Per Chandler laws, medical marijuana dispensaries that have obtained dual licenses from the State of Arizona may sell adult-use cannabis to persons of legal age in the city. Dispensaries must be located in permanent buildings, not temporary structures, such as motor vehicles or cargo containers. Dispensaries may not have drive-through facilities or take-out windows and must prohibit cannabis consumption on their premises.
Section 35-2213 of the Chandler Code prohibits dispensaries from being located within 1,320 of a school, daycare center, public park, library, or places of worship. Such facilities may also not be located within 5,280 feet of another cannabis business.
State law also prohibits Chandler marijuana dispensaries from selling more cannabis than is permitted under the law. Before selling marijuana to buyers, dispensaries must verify their IDs and identities.
Proposition 207 legalized cannabis use for adults of legal age in Chandler and other Arizona jurisdictions. The Act allows Chandler residents over 21 to possess up to 1 ounce of cannabis and 5 grams of cannabis extracts. Additionally, they may grow up to six cannabis plants in their residence. Chandler adults aged 21 or older may also give away up to 2 grams of cannabis to other adults of at least 21 years of age, provided no form of remuneration or compensation is involved.
Driving under the influence of cannabis is illegal in the city, as is the use of cannabis in public. If more than two adults reside in a dwelling, no more than twelve cannabis plants may be grown for personal use in such a residence. Home cannabis cultivation is only permitted in enclosed areas not visible to the public.
In accordance with the Arizona Medicinal Marijuana Act (AMMA), Chandler residents may access medical marijuana pursuant to certain conditions. A patient enrolled with the AMMA's medical marijuana program is permitted to possess up to 70 grams of cannabis for a period of 14 days. Before enrolling in the program, you must be certified to have at least one approved debilitating condition. Registered patients incapable of accessing medical marijuana may assign caregivers to administer medical marijuana. Although AMMA only enables patients to use cannabis for medicinal purposes on private property, the Act permits registered patients to consume edible cannabis products in public.
Arizona law permits nursing care institutions in Chandler to create policies for the medical marijuana use of its residents. However, such institutions may not prohibit medical cannabis use unless doing so would result in the loss of financial or licensing-related benefits under federal law. Patients and caregivers are allowed by state law to offer medical marijuana to other registered patients or approved caregivers so long as no monetary exchange occurs and possession limits are not exceeded.
If there are no non-profit medical marijuana shops within 25 miles of their residences, registered patients and licensed caregivers may cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants for medical uses. The cultivated plants must be kept in safe, enclosed containers that are concealed from public view.
Under the AMMA, an employer in Chandler may not hold a registered medical marijuana patient accountable for a positive drug test unless the patient consumed, possessed, or was impaired by cannabis during work hours or while on duty.
In order to obtain a medical marijuana card in Chandler, you must:
Be 18 or older
Live in Chandler or another jurisdiction in Arizona
Have a government-issued ID, such as an Arizona Driver's License or other State of Arizona-issued ID
Be certified as having any of the following medical conditions:
Agitation of Alzheimer's disease
Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS)
A disease or medical condition or the treatment for a chronic or debilitating illness or condition that causes:
Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD)
Severe muscle spasms, including those related to multiple sclerosis
Seizures, including those characteristic of epilepsy
Note that your medical cannabis certification must be issued by an Arizona-licensed physician. The healthcare provider must attest in writing that you have one or more qualifying debilitating conditions. Upon obtaining your medical cannabis certification, visit the Arizona Online Patient Registry to complete the process. The following must be uploaded or provided to complete the application:
A copy of the completed and signed physician certification form
A copy of your photo identification
A copy of your completed and signed qualifying patient attestation
Your digital photograph
A $150 application fee. If you are participating in the Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP) assistance program and provide relevant SNAP documentation on the application portal, you qualify for a reduced application fee ($75)
The Arizona Department of Health Services will review your application within ten days of submission. The medical marijuana identification card will be issued within five days of your application's approval. For more information on obtaining a medical marijuana card, visit the Medical Marijuana page of the Arizona Department of Health Services website or review the Individual Application and Portal Guide.
Consuming cannabis at home or on other private property in Chandler is legal. If you reside in a multi-unit apartment, you cannot consume marijuana on such a property. Consuming cannabis in your vehicle is illegal.
You may purchase weed at a Chandler dispensary by visiting the address of a local marijuana dispensary. To locate a marijuana dispensary near you, put the phrase "weed dispensaries near me" into the search bar of an internet search engine. You may also purchase medicinal marijuana online through a medical cannabis dispensary's website.
Cannabis prices in Chandler vary based on the type and grade of the substance. The average price per ounce of high-quality cannabis is $220, while a gram of high-quality cannabis in the city costs between $15 and $20.
Some popular cannabis strains in Chandler are:
Super Lemon Haze
Girl Scout Cookies
Urkle Train Haze
No. Cannabis smoking in public spaces or open spaces is illegal, and businesses are permitted to implement drug-free workplace policies. Landlords may also prohibit cannabis smoking in their apartments. You should check with the property manager or landlord before smoking or consuming cannabis in a rented apartment. The only permitted place to smoke cannabis is in your own private apartment. Note that cars are considered public areas; hence, smoking cannabis in a vehicle is illegal and may result in a driving under the influence (DUI) charge. Note that Arizona’s Smoke-Free Act applies to marijuana use in Chandler.
Proposition 207 permits Chandler adults of legal age (21) to possess up to 5 grams of cannabis concentrate, 28 grams of marijuana and cultivate up to six cannabis plants. Regardless of the number of adults residing in a Chandler household, no more than 12 plants may be cultivated in a household. Registered medical marijuana patients in Chandler can possess up to 2.5 ounces of cannabis every 14 days. Registered patients may also cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants for medicinal uses if there are no non-profit cannabis retail outlets within 25 miles of their homes.
No. Shipping cannabis into Chandler from another state is illegal under federal law, as the federal Controlled Substance Act lists marijuana as a banned substance.
Some Chandler cannabis dispensaries permit customers to order cannabis online and pick up their orders during walk-in visits. Sections 36-2850 and 36-2854 of the Arizona Revised Statutes stipulate that cannabis delivery will become legal statewide once the Arizona Department of Health Services creates the rules to guide cannabis delivery in the city.
No. Per Section 35-2213 of the Chandler Municipal Code, dispensaries may only operate between 9:00 a.m. and 10:00 p.m.
Yes. If you are a tourist in Chandler, you can buy marijuana at any dispensary selling adult-use marijuana by presenting a valid government-issued ID showing you are of legal age (21) to possess cannabis.
In Chandler, residents and visitors may purchase adult-use marijuana without medical marijuana licenses. To buy recreational marijuana from cannabis dispensaries, you need only provide a government-issued ID as proof you are 21 or older. However, if you are a medical marijuana patient, a valid State of Arizona-issued medical marijuana card will be required to purchase medical marijuana.
Territory dispensary and Sticky Saguaro are two of the best cannabis dispensaries in Chandler.
Yes. Chandler cannabis dispensaries scan their customers' IDs to ensure only persons of legal age and identity can purchase cannabis in their facilities.
There are at least five licensed cannabis dispensaries in Chandler.
Chandler dispensaries typically accept cash and not credit cards. If you do not have cash, you may use an ATM within the premises of the dispensary.
It is not unlawful to visit multiple marijuana dispensaries in one day in Chandler. However, you will not be able to buy more than the stated limits under the law.
No. Chandler marijuana dispensaries do not accept health insurance. Since health insurance organizations operate under federal law (which considers marijuana a prohibited substance), their policies do not cover marijuana purchases.
Yes. Under Arizona law, Chandler weed dispensaries must track how much weed customers purchase in their facilities.
No. You must be aged 21 or older before you may be permitted to buy adult-use cannabis at a Chandler recreational dispensary. However, at 18, you may purchase medical marijuana legally in the city.
The Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) regulates marijuana operations in the City of Chandler and statewide in Arizona. You may find the ADHS’ contact information on its website.